Two sides of Mongolia

It occurs to me that I haven’t posted much about Mongolia for a while (and, yes, I know I haven’t posted about much else either in the last few weeks.  I’ve had every good intention, but a shortage of time.  I’ll try to rectify that…).  I thought I ought to draw your attention to this excellent piece in today’s Guardian which focuses mainly on the extraordinary ger encampment to the north of Ulaan Bataar.  I was aware of the growing size of the camp, but I hadn’t realised that it’s now home to around a quarter of the country’s population.  The article brings home the dramatic impact of climate change and challenging economic conditions for many Mongolians.

When travel writers can’t think what else to say about a country, they usually resort to the cliche ‘land of contrasts’ (if you doubt this, try Googling the phrase – you’ll find it applied to everywhere from Germany to Namibia).  I think it’s probably an apposite description, though, when one compares the piece from the Guardian with  this article.

Leave a Reply

